Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tracey Fenner teaching Nia in Hong Kong ~ Photo by: www.partialartist.com

Tracey Fenner teaching Nia in Hong Kong ~ Photo by: http://www.partialartist.com

My Mantra for this past few month’s has been: I choose not to struggle. I choose to FLOW.

Recently I have been recovering from a right knee injury, an injury where surgery was recommended. As a Nia teacher not being able to dance and teach my classes has been incredibly difficult for me. My spirit has truly ached to dance during this time, for me dancing is truly my purpose. The classical dancer/performer within also knows how to push on, the show must go on, and also how I expect a lot from my body. My body’s wisdom spoke, or should I say shouted at me to STOP, it was ENOUGH. I am so grateful for the lessons I have received during this time. My relationship with loving my self has deepen greatly. Only the other day I was re-reading one of my desires for this year. To TRUST, to trust in the Universe. That right now I am in exactly the right place. Trusting that the universe always supports my higher good and gives me the opportunities to grow and evolve with love. In order for me to trust I had to let go of my fear, of controlling the outcome, quirky as this may sound my right knee has shown me the way.

My body is my guide. Everyday we can be faced with obstacles in our life’s, the ups and down, the good the bad. How we choose to react is key to our health and well-being. Do you choose to allow or do you choose to resist?

For me recently I have been playing with ‘Allowing’ ~ acceptance, letting go, flowing, not striving, surrendering. Certainly for me sustaining this sensation is more challenging. I am a person who is always looking forward, moving forward, striving to my next dream! So going more with the flow, and being in the unknown is a little scary for me. BUT, to change this I chose that when I am presented with obstacles, I will go with the flow, surrender versus ‘resist’. The effect this has on my nervous system is profound. A deeper sense of inner peace and calmness.

For me resisting leads to pain. To start with my knee injury I was totally resisting. I was frustrated, I kept pushing on through the pain, I struggled and put up a really good fight, rather than stopping. To be honest it was incredibly ‘hard’ work and I was getting absolutely nowhere. Healing was not happening, all I was doing was causing my body more pain.

So in order to heal by knee I had to surrender, to go with the flow and allow the natural course of time to prevail. This was a process I had to journey through and through not resisting the process I healed my knee, without surgery. And in the end I really enjoyed the process. I can’t remember the last time I actually took so much time out, and truly nurtured my body. Our bodies are so incredibly wise, when I think about it I am just in awe! Every cell in our bodies are so amazingly intelligent. Body gratitude, thank you body for showing me the way, for your ancient wisdom.

I invite you today to sense where in your life right now can you feel resistance? Where are you struggling, pushing through and hitting obstacles time and time again? What can you do today to change that cycle? To give in, to surrender and allow the flow. Wishing you and your nervous system a healthy doze of peace and stillness today and always.

If you have enjoyed reading this post, please leave me a comment. I would love to hear from you.

Tracey FennerAbout Tracey Fenner

Dancing has been part of Tracey’s life since the age of 3 years. Tracey left home at 16 years to attend the Northern Ballet School in Manchester, England. After extensive classical training Tracey graduated & danced professionally for a number of years. Tracey now has almost 2 decades of teaching experience, traveling extensively worldwide. In 2007 Tracey discovered Nia, a path that would change her life forever. Tracey is trained by the Co-Creators of Nia, Debbie Rosas & Carlos Rosas as well as International Master Trainers Helen Terry & Ann Christiansen. Now based in Hong Kong, Tracey has been instrumental in introducing the Nia Technique to the city, and is currently the only Certified Nia Black Belt in Hong Kong. Tracey is the Founder and Artistic Director of Nia Hong Kong and facilitates transformational Nia class experiences, workshops, & retreats around the planet at renowned yoga conferences, academies for performing arts, multi award winning health resorts & destination spas, creating a sacred space for her knowledge & wisdom to inspire others.

Website: Nia Hong Kong

Facebook: Nia Hong Kong

Twitter: Tracey @ Niahongkong

Share

If you enjoyed this post, please subscribe for updates (it’s complimentary)

Subscribe to niahongkong by Email